© Blowpipe 2000-2019


Recorded Summer 2012 Eve Studio Stockport, England.

Released at Tim Burgess’ O Genesis label

SPARKS IN A DARK ROOM (FBN15 / BP068) - 2LP blue & orange vinyl (25 tracks)

Factory Benelux presents a new deluxe 2CD and a 2LP vinyl edition of Sparks In A Dark Room, the second studio album by Dutch electronic group Minny Pops, originally released by Factory Benelux in May 1982.

Formed in Amsterdam in 1978 by vocalist Wally Van Middendorp, MINNY POPS took their name from the primitive Korg drum machine which propelled their austere, post-punk rhythms and provocative live performances. An early association with Factory Records in Manchester saw the band work with producer Martin Hannett, share stages with Joy Division and New Order, and become the first Dutch band to record a BBC radio session for John Peel.

Sparks In A Dark Room is their second studio album, self-produced by the group, recorded without a guitarist and as a result sounded unusually polished and layered, its smooth sequencers and motorik rhythms often redolent of Moroder, Kraftwerk and Cabaret Voltaire. Bonus tracks include the non-album singles Time and Een Kus, as well as demo tracks and an EP by instrumental splinter project Smalts. (FBN15CD only).

Both 2CD and 2LP adds a bonus disc featuring an entire live performance (13 tracks), recorded at Amsterdam Melkweg on 7 April 2012 on their 30th anniversary tour, with original members Wally Van Middendorp, Wim Dekker and Pieter Mulder joined by new guitarist Mark Ritsema.

‘Your Music is All About Angst’ - Giorgio Gomelsky, New York 1981

4th FLOOR (BP048) - album, remastered / download

POSTE RESTANTE (BP047) album, remastered / download


Minny Pops' debut album, originally released in 1979 on Plurex, will be re-released as a double CD set on 20 October 2014 by Factory Benelux.

Disc one includes nine bonus tracks in addition to the digitally restored and remastered album. This material includes the band's three-track debut EP Kojak; a 2003 remix by Zip and DJ Smacker of Dolphin's Spurt; and 12 minutes of video footage comprising 5 live tracks, recorded at the Amsterdam Filmakademie in 1979.

The band lineup for the original studio recording of Drastic Measures, Drastic Movement was: Wally van Middendorp (vocals, drum machine); Stef Emmer (guitar); Dennis Duchhart (guitar); Frans Hagenaars (bass). Produced by Minny Pops.

Disc two features 2 features a complete live performance of the album recorded at Dansmakers in Amsterdam on 11 March 2012, with band members Wally van Middendorp, Pieter Mulder, Dennis Duchhart, Thomas Myrmel, Bart de Vrees, Jeroen Kimman and Wilbert Bulsink.

Disc one: Springtime I \ Minny Pops \ Hologram \ Total Confusion \ Dolphin's Spurt \ Motor City \ Springtime II \ Monica \ Flash Goes The Eye \ MD Mania \ R.U. 21 \ Mono \ Muzak \ Kojak \ Footsteps \ Nervous \ Dolphin's Spurt (remix)

Disc two: live recordings of Springtime I \ Minny Pops \ Hologram \ Total Confusion \ Dolphin's Spurt \ Motor City \ Springtime II \ Monica \ Flash Goes The Eye \ MD Mania \ R.U. 21 \ Mono \ Muzak

"One of those enjoyable albums that is at once of its time and just slightly out of it. Minny Pops here slot into more of an early Human League / Cabaret Voltaire approach of minimal melodies and murky, crumbling noises shot through with murmuring keyboards" (All Music Guide, 10/04)

Listen to Monica from Disc 2 of FBN13CD here:  MinnyPops – Monica (live suite performance 2012)

STANDSTILL TO MOTION (BP067) - LP / 180 gr audiophile vinyl)